ACTIVITIES

The North Sea Vision for 2050 Process
En course of action

The process of the North Sea Vision for 2050 was launched on 16 December 2016 in the marine base at Zeebrugge. In the presence of almost 300 participants, the State Secretary for the North Sea gave the starting signal for a vision formation process that was to last a year.

Three core working groups were set up, comprising of a chair and two reporters: Naturalness, Multiple Use of Space and Blue Economy and Innovation. Each of these working groups enjoyed the support of experts in six intersecting subjects (sustainability, research and development, governance, safety & security, land-sea interaction and trans-boundary thinking).

In the course of 2017, the core working groups met on 4 or 5 occasions to reflect on the future of the North Sea within their area of concern. The meetings were attended by over 150 people in total.

The final reports produced by the three core working groups were presented to the participants on 8 July and can be viewed on the web page below.

An overarching view was distilled from the working groups' final reports, and this was then presented by the State Secretary for the North Sea on 20 December 2017 . This vision can be viewed on the web page below web page below.

D Naturalness meetings (44 participants)D Chaired by Steven Degraer (RBINS), Reporters: Kris Hostens (ILVO) and Ellen De Zwart (FPS Environment) -24/01/2017, 21/02/2017, 18/04/2017, and 23/05/2017.

Blue Economy and innovation meetings (60 participants)D Chaired by Gert Verreet (EWI), Reporters: David Cox (BELSPO) and Sarina Motmans (POM West Flanders) -26/01/2017, 21/02/2017, 30/03/2017, 27/04/2017 and 18/05/2017.

Multiple Use of Space meetings (52 participants)D Chaired by Frank Maes (Maritime Institute, UGhent), Reporters: Jeroen Van Overloop (FPS Mobility) and Steven Vandenborre (FPS Environment) -25/01/2017, 22/02/2017, 19/04/2017 and 17/05/2017.

Governance of the Think Tank North Sea

After termination of the North Sea Vision 2050-process in December 2017, the Think Tank North Sea was initiated. It is coordinated by a steering group consisting of the same members which were part of the North Sea Council in the North Sea Vision 2050-initiative. The steering group is co-chaired by RBINS and VLIZ.

Each year, the steering group will launch an open call for working themes related to the North Sea around which will be evaluated based on a number of criteria (common interest, multisectoral, multidisciplinary, expected impact, added value if the theme relates to ongoing processes). The themes that meet these criteria and generate sufficient interest will evolve to working groups with a designated chair and reporters. The thematic working groups will normally run over the period of one year and will have clear rules and deliverables which are stipulated in terms of reference. The results of the think tank will be presented at the end of each working year.

More information: Internal Regulations Think Tank North Sea

ACTIVITÉS

Le processus d’élaboration de la Vision mer du Nord 2050
Fr course of action

Le processus d’élaboration de la Vision mer du Nord 2050 a été lancé le 16 décembre 2016 à la base navale de Zeebruges. En présence de près de 300 personnes, le Secrétaire d’État à la mer du Nord a donné le coup d’envoi du processus, qui devait durer un an.

Trois groupes de travail ont été mis en place, avec chacun un président et deux rapporteurs : Naturalité, Usage multiple de l’espace et Économie bleue et innovation. Chacun de ces groupes de travail était soutenu par des experts dans six thèmes transversaux (durabilité, recherche et développement, gouvernance, sûreté et sécurité, interaction terre-mer et réflexion transfrontalière).

Courant 2017, chaque groupe de travail s’est réuni 4 à 5 fois pour réfléchir à l’avenir de la mer du Nord dans les domaines en question. Au total, plus de 150 personnes ont participé à ces réunions.

Le rapport final des trois groupes de travail a été présenté le 18 juillet à tous les participants et peut être consulté dans son intégralité sur la page web suivante .

À partir des rapports finaux des groupes de travail, une vision globale a été développée, qui a été présenté par le Secrétaire d’État à la mer du Nord le 20 décembre 2017 . Cette vision peut être consulté sur la page suivante .

Réunions Naturalité (44 participants) Président : Steven Degraer (IRSNB), Rapporteurs : Kris Hostens (ILVO) et Ellen De Zwart (SPF Environnement) - 24/01/2017, 21/02/2017, 18/04/2017 et 23/05/2017.

Réunions Économie bleue et innovation (60 participants) Président : Gert Verreet (EWI), Rapporteurs : David Cox (BELSPO) et Sarina Motmans (POM West-Vlaanderen - 26/01/2017, 21/02/2017, 30/03/2017, 27/04/2017 et 18/05/2017.

Réunions Usage multiple de l’espace (52 participants) Président : Frank Maes (Maritiem Instituut, UGent), Rapporteurs : Jeroen Van Overloop (SPF Mobilité) et Steven Vandenborre (SPF Environnement) - 25/01/2017, 22/02/2017, 19/04/2017 et 17/05/2017.

Gouvernance du Think Tank North Sea

Après la fin du processus Vision Mer du Nord 2050 en décembre 2017, le Think Tank North Sea a été lancé. Il est coordonné par un groupe de pilotage composé des mêmes membres que ceux qui faisaient partie du Conseil de la mer du Nord dans le cadre de l’initiative North Sea Vision 2050. Le groupe de pilotage est coprésidé par l'IRSNB et VLIZ.

Chaque année, le groupe de pilotage lancera un appel ouvert à des thèmes de travail en rapport avec la mer du Nord, qui sera évalué sur la base d’un certain nombre de critères (intérêt commun, multisectoriel, multidisciplinaire, impact attendu et valeur ajoutée si le thème se rapporte aux processus en cours). Les thèmes qui répondent à ces critères et suscitent un intérêt suffisant évolueront vers des groupes de travail avec un président désigné et des rapporteurs. Les groupes de travail thématiques se dérouleront normalement sur une période d’un an et auront des règles et des objectifs concrets définis dans les termes de référence. Les résultats du groupe de réflexion seront présentés à la fin de chaque année de travail.

Plus d'information : Règlement d’ordre intérieur de Think Tank North Sea