ABOUT US

We are THINK TANK NORTH SEA.
We explore the core principles by which the use of the North Sea may in the future be governed.

CONTEXT

The North Sea Vision for 2050 process, initiated by the State Secretary for the North Sea, created a new form of interaction between stakeholders from a variety of industries and fields. The North Sea Council saw an opportunity to extend this unique dynamic in the form of an independent Think Tank North Sea in which the RBINS (Directorate Natural Environment) and VLIZ would play pioneering roles.

MISSION

Think Tank North Sea is a neutral and unaffiliated body in which stakeholders from a wide range of backgrounds (science, policy, civil society, industry and society) consider subjects related to the North Sea. The work of the think tank is always based on current science and relevant to society's biggest challenges.

GOALS

Think Tank North Sea is driven by three goals: extending the support on the ground for subjects relating to the North Sea; providing a seedbed for future visions for the North Sea; preparing science-based recommendations on subjects relating to the North Sea.

State Secretary for Social Fraud Protection, Privacy and the North Sea

Philippe De Backer

The rapid developments currently underway in our marine areas have necessitated a widely-supported and scientifically-underpinned long-term vision for sustainable, integrated policy. The introduction of the North Sea Vision for 2050 is therefore an essential part of our ongoing review of the marine spatial plan for the Belgian section of the North Sea. It is my wish that the process be taken forward by the Think Tank North Sea.

We learn more by combining our knowledge, and a sea of knowledge leads to a sea of possibilities for a sustainable, blue future.

VLIZ / OD NATURE

After the launch of the North Sea Vision for 2050, the pioneering role transfers from the State Secretary for the North Sea to the RBINS (Directorate Natural Environment) and the VLIZ, which will then advance the dynamic through the independent Think Tank North Sea.

Directorate Natural Environment

OD Natuur

The operational management of the Directorate Natural Environment of the Royal Belgian Institute of Natural Sciences has as its core business: policy support (Biodiversity and North Sea), scientific services and scientific research. More than 60% of the organisation's staff and activities are dedicated to the marine environment. Through its MUMM science service Directorate Natural Environment also fulfils an important series of legal obligations which fall within the remit of the State Secretary for the North Sea. The interdisciplinary approach typical of the organisation's management is very closely aligned with the spirit and aims of Think Tank North Sea. The managers and their teams are therefore particularly well suited to this initiative and hope through this to contribute to science-based visions for the future of our North Sea and rise to the challenges that await them.

Flemish Institute for the Sea

VLIZ

The Vlaams Instituut voor de Zee [Flemish Institute for the Sea] (VLIZ) is the coordination platform for marine research in Flanders. One of VLIZ's core activities is support of a sustainable and scientifically underpinned policy for the coastal area, marine areas and adjacent estuaries. The think tank provides a unique framework around which to form this institutional objective. The think tank's multidisciplinary and inclusive nature also provides the opportunity for wide-scale communication over the challenges facing our North Sea and so plays a part in improving the 'ocean literacy' of all involved.

QUI SOMMES-NOUS

Le THINK TANK NORTH SEA se penche sur les principes fondamentaux qui encadrent l’utilisation future de la mer du Nord.

CONTEXTE

Pendant le processus d’élaboration de la Vision mer du Nord 2050, lancé par le Secrétaire d’État à la mer du Nord, une interaction unique a vu le jour entre les parties prenantes de différents domaine et secteurs. Le Conseil de la mer du Nord a jugé opportun de poursuivre cette dynamique exceptionnelle au sein du Think Tank North Sea, dont l’IRSNB (DO Nature) et le VLIZ seront les chefs de file.

MISSION

Le Think Tank North Sea est une entité neutre et indépendante au sein de laquelle des parties prenantes de divers horizons (science, politique, société civile, industrie et société) se penchent sur des thèmes en rapport avec la mer du Nord. Le think tank a toujours pour point de départ la science et recherche des synergies pour répondre aux grands défis sociaux.

OBJECTIF

Le Think Tank North Sea a un triple objectif : élargir le soutien et harmoniser les points de vue quant à des thèmes relatifs à la mer du Nord ; favoriser l’élaboration d’une vision pour la mer du Nord ; et formuler des conseils étayés scientifiquement concernant des thèmes liés à la mer du Nord..

Secrétaire d'État à la lutte contre la fraude sociale, à la protection de la vie privée et à la mer du Nord

Philippe De Backer

Nos zones maritimes étant actuellement en plein changement, une vision à long terme bénéficiant d’un large soutien et fondée sur des données scientifiques est essentielle pour une politique durable et intégrée. L’élaboration de la Vision mer du Nord 2050 forme donc une composante majeure de l’actuelle révision du plan d’aménagement des espaces marins pour la partie belge de la mer du Nord. Je souhaite poursuivre ce processus au sein d’un Think Tank North Sea.

Ensemble nous en savons plus et une mer de savoirs mène à une mer de possibilités pour un avenir bleu durable.

VLIZ / OD NATURE

Après le lancement de la Vision mer du Nord 2050, le Secrétaire d’État à la mer du Nord, instigateur du processus, a passé le relais à l’IRSNB (DO Nature) et au VLIZ, qui poursuivront cette dynamique au sein de l’organisme indépendant Think Tank North Sea.

La direction opérationnelle Milieux naturels

OD Natuur

La direction opérationnelle Milieux naturels ou DO Nature de l’Institut royal des sciences naturelles de Belgique a pour principales missions : soutenir les politiques (relatives à la biodiversité et à la mer du Nord), fournir des services scientifiques et mener des recherches scientifiques. Plus de 60 % de ses effectifs et de ses activités sont dédiés à l’environnement marin. En outre, à travers son service scientifique, l’UGMM, la DO Nature assume une série d’obligations légales importantes qui relèvent de la compétence du Secrétaire d’État à la mer du Nord. L’approche interdisciplinaire traditionnellement adoptée par cette direction correspond bien à l’esprit et aux aspirations du Think Tank North Sea. La direction et ses collaborateurs sont donc très favorables à cette initiative et espèrent pouvoir contribuer, à travers celle-ci, à des visions fondées concernant l’avenir de la mer du Nord et les défis qui l’attendent.

L’Institut flamand de la mer

VLIZ

L’Institut flamand de la mer (Vlaams Instituut voor de Zee, VLIZ) est la plateforme de coordination de la recherche marine en Flandre. L’une de ses principales activités est le soutien à une politique durable et scientifiquement étayée pour le littoral, les zones marines et les estuaires avoisinants. Le think tank constitue un cadre unique pour contribuer à la réalisation de ces objectifs institutionnels. Son caractère multidisciplinaire et inclusif offre en outre la possibilité de communiquer largement sur les grands défis de la mer du Nord et donc de contribuer à aux connaissances relatives à l’océan de toutes les parties intéressées.